Skip to content

RPGaDay 2017 – Day 3

03/08/2017

How do you find out about new RPGs?

Short Answer: Facebook.

Long Answer: I don’t really follow any of the gaming news sites these days. On occasion I’ll follow a link and scan a few articles, but that’s more of an exception than a rule. Instead, I’ve liked a few gaming news pages and groups on Facebook. That way, I may not catch an article when it first posts, but I’ll certainly catch it when one of my gaming friends likes, comments on, or shares the article.

Not to cast any shade on the many, many gaming websites doing good work every day, but Facebook is just easier. You don’t have to worry about remembering a half-dozen logins and it’s usually easier to share images and video (especially in this age of Photobucket demanding money for third-party image hosting).

Facebook has one other big advantage – it’s mobile-friendly. I may take this a little more seriously than most as this is my day job, but a LOT of websites are hard to read on anything other than a computer or larger tablet. I know most people running gaming sites are gamers first, but if you don’t want to discourage a significant chunk of your readers you have to make sure your content is easy to read. There are a few sites I’ve visited once on my mobile and never gone back. Yes, it might take some extra effort to make it work, but it’s worth it in the end. Your visitors may not thank you openly, but they’ll show appreciation with repeat business.

Leave a Reply

