Skip to content

RPGaDay 2017 – Day 1

01/08/2017
Lots of RPG Books

What published RPG do you wish you were playing right now?

Short Answer: Pretty much anything.

Long Answer: It’s been a couple of years since my last RPG session. There’s no single reason for this, life just filled up with other things. It’s not good, or bad, it just is.

Sure, I don’t always feel like breaking out some dice and character sheets, but on the occasions I do I usually end up turning to computer games that offer a similar experience. This isn’t a perfect solution, but it does scratch the itch.

This might sound negative, but it isn’t. You don’t need to sit down at a table for a few hours to engage in shared storytelling. This is the “future” and I could play a dozen different games at the same time without leaving my house. Forum-based, or play-by-post, games are an excellent starting point. Sure, you first have to get into a game then hope you’re part of a good group, but experience has proved that a good group can lead to an excellent experience.

But what would I play were I to go this route. I can think of a few options – the first being an Iron Kingdoms game on the Privateer Press forms. I’ve played a couple of IKRPG games here, so I know it works as a platform. The other players were pretty good though, but both times the games ran out of steam (pun intended) rather quickly. My second pick would be the Crafty Games forums. Like PP, I’ve played a few games here in the past including a particularly memorable Lord of the Rings game using the Fantasy Craft rules. It has a good community of players and a variety of games going on at any point.

If I were after something different, I’m sure I could find a play-by-post game on any one of many, many gaming forums. The trick would be finding somewhere running a game I’d be interested in playing. Also, not every game works well in a play-by-post format. Sure, you can make almost any game work, but some simply flow better when you’re all sitting around a table – or can interact with the other participants in real-time.

Will I go hunting for a forum game any time soon? Probably not. It might be wise to get RPGaDay out-of-the-way first, lest I get deep into a game and forget to answer some questions. Plus, I can take this month of reflection to figure out exactly what sort of game I want to play.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

