Skip to content

RPGaDay 2016 – Day 31

31/08/2016

What is the best piece of advice you were ever given for your game of choice?

Short Answer: When you’re a player, don’t read the monster stats.

Long Answer: It didn’t come from my game of choice – as I’m not actively playing anything at the moment I don’t really have one – but back from when I started playing DnD 3rd Edition. Having grown up reading the old Monster Manuals at my local library, one of my first instincts when encountering this new game was to pick up the Monster Manual and see what it had to offer.

I was chastised by one of the other players (the DM hadn’t noticed), but not in a harsh way. They told me the game is more fun if you don’t know how to defeat every monster you come up against. That wasn’t my intent when I picked up the book. I was more interested in seeing which monsters had made it into this edition of the game.

Either way, it was good advice. Games are more realistic when the gamers don’t know everything. Sure, they can learn things during the campaign that fill in the gaps in their knowledge, but that is best as a player-driven activity. Does that mean I’ve avoided looking at the NPCs for any game I haven’t run? Of course not. Over the years I’ve improved as a roleplayer and can avoid using things my character clearly wouldn’t know in a game.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

