Skip to content

RPGaDay 2016 – Day 22

22/08/2016

What are some random events in your games that keep happening?

Short Answer: My dice fail me at a critical moment.

Long Answer: It’s a safe bet that if my character is in a life-or-death situation where life hinges on a successful roll of the dice, the dice will not roll my favour. Yes, this happens to everyone at some point. It’s part of the random nature of dice-based games. It just seems to happen to me a LOT.

My most infamous, and oft-repeated, tale of failure-by-dice involved my very short-lived Spycraft agent. Turns out rolling multiple natural 1’s (a Critical Failure in the game) is a great way to have your character wind up dead before the end of the session. Not all of my characters have been this unlucky, but each has at least a couple of moments where the dice failed at a critical moment.

This issue isn’t limited to roleplaying games, either. I took the photo above during a game of Warmachine. My Warcaster engaged in melee with the enemy Warlock and got to a point where I only needed a 5+ on two dice to kill him outright. Hedging my bets, I boosted the roll to add an additional die. This wouldn’t guarantee me success, but it should heavily tip the odds in my favour. As you can see in the photo, it still wasn’t enough.

I’m not sure what I did to displease the dice god(s). There isn’t exactly an established structure for proper worship and appeasement. I guess I’ll just have to keep rolling and hope for the best. Surely things can’t get any worse. Right?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

