Skip to content

RPGaDay 2016 – Day 15

15/08/2016

What types or source of inspiration do you turn to most often for RPGs?

Short Answer: Mostly visual media – TV, movies, artwork.

Long Answer: Visual media has always been a big source of inspiration for me. Written media is good, and I can envision the worlds described as I read, but how it all comes together is always shaped somewhat by things I’ve seen before. It’s like my mind builds up a database with images that it then draws from when I read.

The same holds true when I’m planning an adventure. I think back to especially evocative moments or images that are appropriate to the scene I’m trying to build. One example of this was the Free RPG Day adventure I wrote for Hollow Earth Expedition. The adventure opened with the PCs on board a ship as it comes under attack from a sea monster. This was directly lifted from an episode of Doctor Who (seen in the featured image) titled Carnival of Monsters.

Another burst of inspiration came while I was watching The Fellowship of the Rings. I’d been watching a lot of Stargate SG-1, as well as reading the recently released Stargate SG-1 RPG, and found myself thinking “what if SG-1 stepped through the Stargate and ended up in Middle Earth?” A couple of hours of frenzied typing later, I’d fleshed out the planetary details, stats for the ‘native species’, and some basics of how missions there could play out. Sadly, all that information was lost long ago. Maybe one day I’ll re-immerse myself in the respective source materials and see if lightning strikes twice.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

