Skip to content

RPGaDay 2016 – Day 11

11/08/2016

Which gamer that you have played with has most affected the way that you play?

Short Answer: AMERICA.

Long Answer: No, not the country. I’m talking about the on-campus roleplaying club at Auckland University. Why America? It’s a backronym that stands for Association of Middle Earth Roleplayers and Independent Character Assimilators. In short, the club founder wanted to be known as the President of America.

But why did I pick AMERICA? I started roleplaying in high school, so why not my high school friends? I think it comes down to experience. When we started playing we were kinda making it up as we went along. We had these books and a vague idea of what to do, but that was about it. It’s not surprising that we moved from roleplaying to wargaming after a while.

And then I moved on to university and met people who actually knew what they were doing. I got back into roleplaying big time. Over the next few years I tried a huge variety of games. Some new, like DnD 3rd edition, and a lot that had been around for a while. I even dabbled with White Wolf’s Storyteller system – it was OK, but didn’t really do it for me.

AMERICA is also where I ran my first game. This was what ended up being a surprisingly long-running Spycraft campaign. I started as a player, but this was the game where my Faceman flamed out in spectacular fashion in the first session.

Anyway, it was this variety and exposure that had a massive impact on me. It made me up my game while showing me that there’s more than one way to play, and run, a roleplaying game. You can try approaching a Storyteller game like a DnD adventurer, but you probably won’t last very long. That sort of experience is invaluable.

Leave a Reply

