Skip to content

RPGaDay 2015 – Day 31: Favourite non-RPG thing to come out of RPGing

31/08/2015

Short Answer: Friendship.

Long Answer: It may sound sentimental, but it’s true. Ever since I started gaming back when I started high school, I’ve been able to use it as a way to meet new people. When I moved on to university, the first group of people I fell in with was the campus gaming club. Almost every international friend I have I met through gaming (GenCon is great for meeting new people).

Could I have had a similar experience if I’d been more interested in sports? Probably. I’m not saying this is in any way exclusive to gaming, it’s just my preferred method. For me, gaming is the most social of activities. It’s a bit like going back to school days as you sit around a table playing ‘make believe, only now you’re doing it with books and dice to determine how things play out.

Sure, I haven’t become friends with everyone I’ve met through gaming. That’s only natural. The people I have though are an excellent and varied bunch. There’s a full spectrum of ideas and beliefs, but we all have one thing in common: we think gaming is awesome. And in the end, that’s all that really matters.

And that does it for this year’s RPGaDay. 31 days. 31 questions. 31 answers (kinda).

Want to read what others had to say? Check out the Facebook and #RPGaDay2015 on Twitter.

See you all next year for #RPGaDay2016

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

