Skip to content

RPGaDay 2015 – Day 2: Kickstarted game most pleased you backed

02/08/2015
Mutant Chronicles 3rd Edition

Short Answer: Mutant Chronicles 3rd Edition, Modiphius.

Long Answer: I’ve backed a few RPGs on Kickstarter and they’ve all been pleasing in one way or another. What makes Mutant Chronicles 3rd Edition more pleasing than the rest, if only slightly? It isn’t my decades-long love for the franchise, though that is a big part of it.

When the Kickstarter launched, there were a couple of dozen different pledge rewards. At first I wanted to go all out and opt for print copies of all the unlocked books. I had most of the books for the previous edition and was not disappointed by their contents.

Ultimately, financial sanity took hold and I decided to dial things back.

My final pledge choice was Story Master. This got me printed copies of the main rulebook and Players Guide, as well as PDF copies of the other unlocked books. On top of this, Story Master backers would have their names written into one of the books as an NPC.

This might not sound like much, a small gesture. Technically, this is true. Backers have no control over which book they appear in, they just submit their name and NPC concept and Modiphius handle the rest. Personally, I don’t mind. I’m just happy to have my name appear in a setting I love – even if I’m only on-screen for a few seconds before being eaten by a horror of the Dark Legion.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

