Skip to content

The Mandatory 100th Post Blog Review

17/08/2014
Cake

It’s has been three years, two-and-a-half months since I clicked Publish on this blog’s first post. A long, somewhat rambling introduction devoid of images and short paragraphs.

Back then I had no idea where this would take me, and to a degree I’m still making it up as I go along. It was more about getting my thoughts out there than making sure it was easy and fun to read. I’d like to think I’ve improved since then. Lessons have certainly been learned.

One thing I’ve learned in the last 100 posts is that one topic above all others bring in the hits. It’s not something I write about often, in fact I think there are only a half-dozen posts about it.

Let’s take a look at my Top 5 Most Viewed Pages:

Page Views
Home Page / Archives 2,181
10 things you should do at GenCon 1,775
Dreadfleet? More like Dreadfail! 373
Avengers Reassembled 347
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Price Hike 269

 

I think the result is pretty clear. Aside from the Home Page, what people are coming here for is GenCon (and some Games Workshop-related ranting). Were I a business, I’d take this information and use it as justification for writing more entries about the event, hoping to generate even more hits. Fortunately I’m not a business, nor am I solely in this to get page views. This blog is an outlet for me to write about things that interest me, and that’s how I will continue to use it. Not everything will be of interest to everybody, and that’s okay.

So, what’s coming up? First, I’m about halfway through RPGaDay and doing a pretty good job of getting updates out daily. Outside of that, there is a Kings of War tournament in October that I’m planning on attending and writing about (both before and after), the final chapter of The Hobbit trilogy releasing this December, and plenty more besides.

Hopefully I’ll make it to 200 in less time than it took to make it to 100.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

