Skip to content

LXB: Reality TV Treasure Hunters

14/06/2012

I’m trying something new this week. I’m taking part in a weekly challenge put forward by the League of Extraordinary Bloggers on Cool & Collected. It’s designed to get everyone who participates to talk about one specific topic in their own way. Participating members then have their posts gathered together and commented on at C&C. For example, last week’s topic Top 10 Movies garnered 25 submissions, covering a wide range of movies. This week they’ve turned from movies to television, reality television. Fortunately, it’s a part of that genre that I don’t mind too much….

Pawn Stars, American Pickers, Hollywood Treasure, Storage Wars, Toy Hunters, Auction Hunters, Auction Kings — the list of reality TV treasure hunting shows goes on and on. If you could spend a week with the crew from one of these shows (or one that I missed) who would it be?

For me, there is only one show I could pick. We don’t get a lot of these shows here in New Zealand (at least, not on free-to-air channels), but I’m familiar with many of them from YouTube clips and The Soup. There is one, however, that I have watched in its entirety. All six episodes of it. I am, of course, talking about Comic Book Men, a show about the antics of guys who work at Jay & Bob’s Secret Stash. The greatest comic book store in Redbank, New Jersey.

Ming, Bryan, Walt, Mike, and some bloke from LA

At first, it may not seem like it fits into the ‘treasure hunting’ TV genre, but it really is. Compare it to an average episode of Pawn Stars and you’ll soon see the similarities. The wacky customers trying to sell weird and unusual items, the social interplay between the staff, the occasional epic item that is worth a small fortune, it’s all there. Just because they’re talking about which female comic book character they find the hottest or taking a break to play some carpark hockey, it doesn’t diminish from what they do.

Back to the topic: Why would I want to spend a week with the Comic Book Guys? There’s the obvious answer – I’d get to sit in the store reading and talking about comic books, movies, and other random shit for a week. Who wouldn’t want to do that (provided the money was good of course)? I’ve got some retail experience, so I could handle the till as well. There’s more than that, though. For starters, while these guys are all older than I am, they’re not a lot older. I imagine we could find a fair bit of common ground – once they stopped making fun of my accent. There’s only so many times I’ll agree to get everyone some “fush and chups” before it gets old.

Then there are the perks of working in a famous comic book store – the special customers. Sure, there’ll be people through the door every day who come in, rifle through the merchandise, buy a comic or two, and leave. The special customers are the ones who come in with, well, something special. It could be an ultra-rare comic that they’ve just bought and want to show off. It could be an authentic prop from a cult film. It could be a Batmobile…

Lucky buggers!

How many jobs out there give you the chance to ride in the Batmobile? That’s one hell of a perk. Also, if you’re really lucky you could spend the day also working with Jason Mewes. Though it seems to be less “working with” and more “keeping an eye on”.

So there we have it, given the choice I would happily spend a week working with the Comic Book Men. All I need to do first is perfect my New Jersey accent. Where did I put my Goodfellas DVD?

UPDATE: Want to check out some of the other submissions? Here are a few of my favourites:

You can find links to all of the submissions at Cool & Collected.

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 14/06/2012 01:30

    Great choice! I didn’t really care for the first episode of Comic Book Men, but I’m glad I stuck with it, because it ended up being really good. I especially enjoyed seeing all the items that people tried to sell them.

    (And welcome to the League! It’s great to see it gain some international voices.)

    • 14/06/2012 11:24

      Thanks Brian!

      I kinda felt the same way about first episode. They more than made up for it with the second episode with the Batmobile, however. I’m looking forward to their second season, even if they are moving to a half hour format.

  2. 14/06/2012 14:41

    I was gonna pick this show cause it would be awesome to hang with these guys but I just dont care for the show! I quit a few shows in but if you guys think it got better maybe I’ll give it a second chance !

    • 14/06/2012 16:18

      There were only six episodes in the first season, so it’s easy to catch up. Personally, I do think it got better as it went on. There were a few amazing items in the latter episodes.

Trackbacks

  1. League Assignment: Storage Wars 2.0 « Geek It Till It Hurts
  2. The League has spoken: Reality TV Treasure Hunters — Cool and Collected - collecting pop culture memories and memorabilia
  3. The League has spoken: Reality TV Treasure Hunters. « Team Hellions
  4. The League One Year Anniversary. | Team Hellions

Leave a Reply

