Skip to content

New Resolutions Quarterly Update

03/05/2012

In an effort to keep myself honest, I’m going to regularly(ish) review how well I’m sticking to the resolutions I made at the start of the year. Progress has been mixed, but I hope these updates will help me to stay on target.

Geek Resolutions

Write, write, write: While not a complete failure, MyJanWriMo achieved less than stellar results. Things haven’t been too much better since then, either. Sadly, it’s been a pretty busy year, but with this weekend’s wedding out-of-the-way, I’m hoping to have more free time. I hope.

Watch my spending: Fortunately, I’ve had much better results here. My GenCon trip is bought and paid for, so everything I save now can go towards swag and Steak n Shake. It also helps that there isn’t a great deal that I need at the moment, so this have left with me with a little extra cash to spend on things like Kickstarter.

Get to the movies: A little over four months into the year and I’ve seen a grand total of two films: John Carter and The Avengers. While some people decried the former as terrible, I really enjoyed it. Sure, it had worse marketing than the Nazi Party in WWII Britain, but it’s what happens on the big screen that counts, and that was a whole lot of awesome.

Life Resolutions

Eat better: It took a little while to get into a healthy(er) eating habit, but it’s underway now. Sure, I’m not eating perfectly every day of the week, but when I’m at work I’m on the ball. Okay, so I do indulge in a little cake on the occasion of a co-worker’s birthday, but there’s only so many of them in a year. Drinking only tea at work has the added bonus of saving money that I would have otherwise spent on soft drinks.

Keep better hours: I’m getting to bed before midnight most night of the week. Sure, it may be a few minutes before midnight, but it’s better than 1am. Now I just need to start pushing that back to 11:30, maybe 11:00 if there’s nothing to watch.

Improve my HQ: Of all my resolutions, this one has been the most successful, just nudging out saving money. Both Valentine’s Day and our first wedding anniversary were a success. Not perfect, for reasons I won’t share, but still damn good. Between a ‘animal love’ themed Zoom Tour at the zoo and staying the night in our wedding suite, it’s going to be fun trying to live up to it next year.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

