Skip to content

MyJanWriMo Recap

21/02/2012

…or How I Thought I’d Have More Free Time In January.

Considering that it’s been a little over a month since my last update, it’s fair to say that my grand plan to write 31,000 words during January did not go as intended.

I knew going into this that it wasn’t going to be easy to meet the word count, but I didn’t think I’d fail as badly as I did. I was hoping for at least 20,000. Let’s take a look at what went wrong…

I got off to a decent start. Not as strong as I might have liked, but then it’s difficult to dedicate every waking moment of every day to writing. This is especially true during a month that usually involves a great deal of social events. Add catching up with multiple TV shows into that mix and time starts slipping away pretty rapidly. It doesn’t help that I don’t have a room that I can retreat to where I can write in a distraction-free environment. On top of that, I came to realise that I find it easier to write in the evening. I don’t know if it’s because the temperature is cooler, or because my internal clock is a few hours slow, but it seems to work out that way.

Does this mean that MyJanWriMo was a failure? Honestly, no. I still wrote a fair bit, and managed to set a few other gears in motion. It was also very encouraging to see regular page views (I think I managed to get up to two weeks without a quiet day). I have a couple of posts that are partially completed and will be published sometime in the near future, as well as a few more that haven’t even been started yet. All I need to do now is keep the momentum up. I don’t think I’ll be setting myself any epic challenges for a while, however. I’m just going to post at a more normal rate and not stress about it.

That said, I have started playing Star Wars The Old Republic. I wanted to hold off until the game was officially released in NZ sometime in March (apparently), but certain corrupting forces as work dragged me over to the Dark Side. Whenever I’m able to tear myself away from Republic Trooper Ropata and Imperial Bounty Hunter Temuera, I’ll make sure to put as much effort into this blog as possible.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

