Skip to content

MyJanWriMo

05/12/2011

…or How I’m Spending My Summer Holidays

This year, my employers are being particularly generous and giving everyone three weeks off for Christmas and New Years. This may seem a little excessive, what with both big days falling on the weekend. Technically, we could have the week in between of and be back to work the following Monday (or Tuesday depending on hangovers). The thing you need to remember, though, is that this is New Zealand. Christmas falls in the middle of summer down here, so these three weeks off double as a summer holiday.

Because of this extended time off I’ve decided to do something productive. I’m going to do MyJanWriMo. No, not NaNoWriMo, I’ll be two months late for that. I’m dubbing January My January Writing Month. Not the most clever name perhaps, but a writing month by any other name would have just as much word count.

The idea with MyJanWriMo is that I’m going to spend as much time as possible during the month of January writing. Not a single novel, though, a whole bunch of things. I could write a novel, but I get the feeling I’ll probably end up with three or four different projects. With this in mind I’m changing the NaNoWriMo rules a little, too. As it is summer, I may be called on the engage in ‘family activities’ so I’m not setting a 50,000 word target. I’m going to go with something a little more realistic like 31,000 words (or 1,000 words per day). I know I can knock out 1,000 words pretty easily, so this shouldn’t be too taxing on my time.

I will post everything I write to this blog, and some of it will relate to things that I have already started (like my Dark Eldar Necromunda conversion and my Gen-Con Prep articles). Each post will end with a word count for that post, as well as an updated total word count so you can follow my progress throughout the month.

All going well, I’ll end up with more than 31,000 words. Who knows, maybe I’ll knock out a short story in the middle there somewhere, too.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

