Skip to content

So I started a blog…

31/05/2011

The story so far

A year ago tomorrow I posted my last entry on LiveJournal. I didn’t know it was my last then, but in hindsight I should have seen the writing on the wall. What was this final post? A book meme. Nothing too fancy, just a quick addition really. The two previous posts were links to YouTube videos, one of which appears to no longer exist. My most recent post of any substance appeared a good six months before the end. I had begun to use the site like Facebook, and eventually I decided to just pack it in and move over there completely.

As most of us know, Facebook is an attractive beast. Good for many things, but not for blogging in any substantial way. You can write notes, post images and videos, even share your thoughts directly with your friends and the wider public, but it’s not the same. Ultimately, Zuckerberg designed Facebook as a tool to let college students connect to one another, and it hasn’t evolved too far past that point. It is good for what it is, but doesn’t really scratch my blogging itch. Nor does Twitter. Sure, it can sometimes be fun to follow your favourite celebrities; find out what they had for lunch, or which TV shows they think you should watch (besides their own, of course), but 140 character updates are even more limiting than Facebook.

It was only a matter of time before I tried getting back into proper blogging. I’d looked at a couple of different blogging sites in the past, but neither of them really felt right. Either too old school and basic, or not really what I was looking for. In the end, WordPress seemed to offer the best package. It may take a while to get to grips with all the nuances, but that’s part of the fun.

So what is Geek-Life Balance?

The other benefit of moving to WordPress, and not just going back to LiveJournal, is that it gives me a chance to start again. Refocus my thoughts into something more concise. I’ll leave the funny cat videos to Facebook, and my momentary flashes of pithiness can remain on Twitter. What I’m wanting to do here is get some exercise in. Not in the physical sense, either. I’ll leave the treadmills and dumbbells to the gym bunnies, I’m here to exercise my mind by writing. And because WordPress keeps telling me my blog needs a theme, I’ve picked something that has been near and dear to my heart for some time now – geek culture. Anyone who knows me knows that I am a colossal geek, and almost always have been. What better topic for me to write about than the one that I know best.

As for the ‘Life Balance’ part of the title? That’s a reference to “work-life balance”, my employers way of making sure I only work 60+ hour weeks if it’s urgently needed. Geek-Life Balance is a similar concept, in theory. What I’m also going to try to write about from time to time is ways to not only balance being a geek with non-geek activities, but ways combine the two – starting with my looming honeymoon (which includes a trip to GenCon), but more on that later. For now, however, I’m planning on reviewing X-Men First Class in the next couple of days. We’ll see how things develop from there.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Dave Morgans permalink
    31/05/2011 09:53

    …yay, Wolvie’s back and a bloggin’

    And congratulations on becoming the first entry in my Blogs link folder!

  2. Matty B permalink
    27/06/2011 23:34

    ouch 60+?…….im locked in at 38. Any more, and they get stroppy cos they HATE having to dole out overtime to f/t’ers. Then again, what do you expect from a kitchen bitch 😛

    • Andrew permalink*
      27/06/2011 23:37

      That’s only in very extraordinary circumstances, like when the government decides to change GST. Most weeks are pretty normal.

Trackbacks

  1. The Mandatory 100th Post Blog Review | Geek-Life Balance

Leave a Reply

